(ebook, audiobook, paperback, hardcover)

(paperback, hardcover)


The ebook version is currently exclusive to Amazon. If you started the series on a different ereader, please contact the author for steps on how to get the ebooks in your preferred format. 

CephRaeL's HaNd

a pattern of shadow and light | book 1


Winner Best Fantasy, Best SF/F, Written Arts Awards
National Indie Excellence Fantasy Finalist
Readers Favorite Fantasy Finalist
Top Shelf Magazine Indie Book Award Finalist
ForeWord Book of the Year Finalist

All things are formed of patterns...” And within the pattern of the realm of Alorin, three strands must cross:

In Alorin…three hundred years after the genocidal Adept Wars, the realm is dying, and the blessed Adept race dies with it. One man holds the secret to reverting this decline: Bjorn van Gelderan, a dangerous and enigmatic man whose shocking betrayal three centuries past earned him a traitor’s brand. It is the Adept Vestal Raine D’Lacourte’s mission to learn what Bjorn knows in the hope of salvaging his race. But first he’ll have to find him…

In the kingdom of Dannym…the young Prince Ean val Lorian faces a tenuous future as the last living heir to the coveted Eagle Throne. When his blood-brother is slain during a failed assassination, Ean embarks on a desperate hunt for the man responsible. Yet his advisors have their own agendas, and his quest for vengeance leads him ever deeper into a sinuous plot masterminded by a mysterious and powerful man, the one they call First Lord…

In the Nadori desert…tormented by the missing pieces of his life, a soldier named Trell heads off to uncover the truth of his shadowed past. But when disaster places him in the debt of Wildlings sworn to the First Lord, Trell begins to suspect a deadlier, darker secret motivating them.

The strands of all three men are intricately connected, spun through the vast pattern constructed by the First Lord in a deadly game three centuries in the making, a game where there are pieces and there are players. Pieces don’t know a game exists, and only players have a chance of surviving it. Each man must face his own fears and claim a role in the First Lord’s game, but even if they do, they aren’t the only players, and all of Alorin is the prize.

A Pattern of Shadow and Light

book 2

book 3

book 4

Start reading now

Chapters 1-3

© 2022, Melissa McPhail. All rights reserved. Some affiliate links in use.    •    Website Design by Rocket Expansion

Pin It on Pinterest